Latest Event Updates

Brene Brown: The power of vulnerability and the real meaning of courage

Posted on

“Brene Brown studies human connection — our ability to empathize, belong, love. In a poignant, funny talk at TEDxHouston, she shares a deep insight from her research, one that sent her on a personal quest to know herself as well as to understand humanity”.


Posted on

Originally posted on kbam:

It’s the future. Rather than provide a Friday five, this week an introduction to my utmost favorite discovery from 2014. Harmonic Laboratory is an artistic collective based in Eugene, Oregon whose mission is to inspire the community through art and technology collaborations.

I was first exposed to the work of choreographer Brad Garner and the Harmonic Laboratory collective when I attended a psychedelic performance of (sub)urban Projections in Eugene in January, 2014. Over the course of one hour, we were guided through the harshly mathematical architecture of the Eugene Hult Center by nine stimulating and emotive performances integrating dance, music, sound, and technology.

Photo credit: Dmitri Von Klein, 2014 Photo credit: Dmitri Von Klein, 2014

Artist Dmitri Von Klein has images from the event available here. Check out more videos like that below, Graffiti Test, blending punky choreography with digital media (I think these are post-production 3D images) on the Harmonic Laboratory website.

Wishing all many enticing discoveries for 2015!!

View original

Augmented Reality needs storytellers

Posted on

Originally posted on LAVREB:


Augmented Reality and Advertising: The Future is Closer Than You Think

Augmented reality is not the same thing as virtual reality. While virtual reality is a completely fictional simulation, augmented reality is the “real-time use of information in the form of text, graphics, audio and other virtual enhancements integrated with real-world objects,” said Tuong Huy Nguyen, principal research analyst at Gartner. Although the technology is still in its infancy, it has matured to the point where organizations can use it internally and externally to create its future use-cases. On October 30, I spoke on a panel at InsideAR – the largest augmented reality conference in Europe organized by Metaio, the leading AR company with over 40 percent market share – about the future of AR in enterprise from a marketing perspective. What I want to share with you is that the future is probably closer than you think. ….[READ

View original 1 more word


Posted on

Originally posted on Trumpiot:

An experimental drawing machine powered by the heart rate of each viewer


View original

Augmented reality and projection mapping for beginners

Posted on

Originally posted on diverseproject:

Augmented reality (AR) has been such a slow-build that it feels like it has been around forever. Smartphone technology has been on the brink of bringing commercial AR technology to the masses for the past three or four years, without really delivering a killer app.

Look for a widely-used AR application on any smartphone and the chances are that outside the ‘well-known’ browsers such as Layar or Junaio, anyone would struggle to name an alternative. Tales abound of virtual shopping apps where you see how outfits look without having to try them on, whizz-bang animations or historical films that play when you hold your smartphone up at a certain location or over a photograph printed in a newspaper. AR has been given the lead in everything from reviving tourism to the humble newspaper.

And it may well happen soon. In the meantime there are people playing with AR in exciting…

View original 482 more words


Posted on

Originally posted on @LauraLME:

Trocadero Lightscolours 3colours 2colours 1colours5colours4

~ VersesInMotion~ Digital Poetry ~ Photography  © All Rights Reserved 


By Laura LME  ©

My name is love, 
my colour is red. 
Vivid drops of ruby
poured over your skin,
showers of ink and paint
dominated by shadows, 
in the light of antic flames
burning your heart!

My name is pain, 
my colour is orange. 
Veins of flowing fluid
deep slopes of sharpness,
in the cavities of time
pressing against your organs, 
extracting bitter tears
contracting your heart.

My name is hope, 
my colour is yellow.
Wires of metallic nets
needles of faith,
spread around you
thin rays of thunder,
conducting electricity
empowering your mind.

My name is strength, 
my colour is power! 
Shades of acceptance, 
nuances of fight
depth of belief,
brushes of inspiration
dipped in beauty,
painting the canvas of life!

View original

The 3D printed dress

Posted on

Originally posted on B's Opinions:

slide_285205_2197424_free Picture from the

In 2010, designer Iris van Herpen presented the first 3D printed dress in her Crystallization collection. The artistic work was incredible and it opened up numerous opportunities for the fashion industry. In 2013, Michael Schmidt did it again. The dress was designed for burlesque dancer, Dita von Teese. Schmidt designed a dress based on the mathematical formula, the Golden Ratio. Shapeways printed the dress in powered nylon and it was then embellished by hand with more than 12 000 Swarovski crystals. When Dita modeled the gown, the dress flowed and shimmered beautifully, resembling much of Dita’s old Hollywood glam. Simply breathtaking.



View original